Prez Akufo-Addo Makes New Appointments . . . K. T. Hammond Is New Trade Minister, Bryan Acheampong to Agric Ministry

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has announced some changes in his government.

The Speaker of Parliament Rt. Hon Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin announced the Ministerial nominations in Parliament today when the House reconvened after the Christmas recess.

President Akufo-Addo has appointed Kobina Tahiru Hammond as the new Minister of Trade and Industry, taking over from Alan Kyerematen who recently resigned from his position to contest for the NPP Flagbearer position for election 2024.

Bryan Acheampong, MP for Abetifi Constituency will now head the Ministry of Food and Agriculture.

Meanwhile, former Director-General of SIGA Stephen Asamoah Boateng, heads to the Ministry of Chieftaincy, Mohammed Amin Adam is now the Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance replaceing Charles Adu Boahen while Osei Bonsu Amoah is the Minister of State for Local Government.

The Member of Parliament for Nhyiaeso and head of MASLOC, Stephen Amoah, is to serve as a Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, while Herbert Krapa, a Deputy Trade Minister has been moved to the Energy Ministry as deputy Minister.

Rt. Hon Alban Bagbin referred the nominations to the Appointments Committee of Parliament and asked the Committee to expedite action on the vetting of the nominees.