Sefa Kayi, PeaceFM STILL Rule The Airwaves

The first ever Radio and Television Personality (RTP) Awards has been held at the Banquet Hall, State House in Accra. Under the theme: �Shaping the Radio and the Television Industry in Ghana�, the awards was organized by Xtertic UK and Big Events Ghana. In all, 26 deserving journalists were awarded in the Competitive Category, 6 in the Non-Competitive category whiles 8 were given Honorary Awards (for outstanding contribution towards the development of Radio and Television in Ghana). Several personalities in the radio and television industry including the CEOs of PeaceFM, Osei Kwame Despite, Crystal TV, Chief Crystal, TV Africa, Kwaw Ansah, TV3, Syad Ahmad Zayed Director of TV (GBC), Moses Gyapong and Multimedia Broadcasting, Kwesi Twum, were all honored at the maiden edition of the awards ceremony which the organizers are promising will be an annual event. PEACEFM maintained its status as the most-listened to radio station by scooping as many as 6 awards on the nite. Significantly, host of PeaceFm�s flagship programme, �Kokrokoo�, Kwami Sefa Kayi cemented his name in history when he was adjudged winner of the Radio and Television Personality (RTP Topmost Award) for the year under review. Aside that award, he also went home with the Morning Show Host of the Year (Radio). Versatile Kojo Dickson picked up the Radio Newscaster of the Year (Local Language) award. PeaceFM�s Akwasi Aboagye was awarded Entertainment Talk Show Host of the Year (Radio). Evergreen Auntie Afia Konadu won the Radio Presenter of the Year (Developmental Issues) award, and the Radio News Editor of the Year award went to Abu Issa Monnie. However, the nite did not belong to PeaceFM alone; Kwame Adinkra and Joe Lakkar, two of the most renowned presenters in Kumasi in the Ashanti Region came tops in their respective categories. JoyFM, an Accra-based commercial radio station went home with 4 awards: Drive Time Show Host of the Year (Bolaray), Radio DJ of the Year (DJ Black), Radio Female Presenter of the Year (Doreen Andoh) and Radio Newscaster of the Year (Dzifa Bampoe).