New Beach Soccer Executives Elected

The Ghana Beach Soccer Association on Friday held its Ordinary Congress to elect new executives for a four-year term. The Congress held at the Accra Sports Stadium comes a day before the inaugural Beach Soccer League commences at the La Beach Resort. After intense minutes of deliberation, consultation and final campaigning, all was set for the polls after the constitution was reviewed and adopted by Congress. Nineteen delegates, constituting eighteen clubs (one delegate each) and one from the Referee committee cast their votes for the positions of vice president and general organizer respectively. Three candidates; Bernard Brooke (Osu Dolphins), Derrick Soli (Ada Assurance) and Fred Afful (Wuo Gbee) stood for the vice presidential slot. While; Sammy Heywood Okine (Chorkor Blue Wales), Solomon Arthur (Dansoman BSC) and Senanu Gbewonyo (Tegbi Youth) contested the general organizer slot. Derrick Soli held off competition from Fred Afful to win the vice presidential slot by juts two votes. He polled 9 as against his closest contender�s 7 whike Bernard Brock came third with 3votes. While Senanu Gbewonyo clocked 16 votes to emerge the overwhelming winner as against Sammy Heywood Okine�s 1 and Solomon Arthur�s 2 votes for the general organizer post. Yaw Ampofo-Ankrah was left unopposed for the position of president alongside treasurer, Cecil McFrancis and PRO Seraphine Amanatey who were all passed by Congress through public acclamation. The newly elected members were immediately sworn-in to begin their new four-year term.