Home   >   News   >   Social   >   201502
MPs Risk Losing Out   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
Parliamentary primaries of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Ashanti Region promise to be an uncompromising exercise as some constituency chairmen are said to have strategically positioned themselves to join the race to oust incumbent legislators.

Daily Guide's survey in the 47 constituencies of the region revealed that more than 10 constituency chairmen had declared interest to fight for the party’s slots to run for the 2016 parliamentary election.

Those poised to lock horn with their area Members of Parliament (MPs) include Dr Afoakwa of Manso-Adubia constituency; Salathiel Takyi aka Joe Sala, of Offinso South; Dr. Emmanuel Marfo of Oforikrom; Dominic Bosompem of Odotobiri; Maxwell Abu of Adansi-Akrofuom and Akwasi Nti Asamoah of Fomena.

Dr. Afoakwa told Daily Guide that he had not shelved his interest since joining the NPP in 1992, asserting that becoming a Member of Parliament had been his dream since day one of his entery into politics.

In his view, he could better serve his constituents, viewed against the backdrop that he had constructed a 15-bed clinic and KVIP for the people, aside sponsoring a number of school children, acquiring three plots of land for the NPP constituency office and financing party activities.

Joe Sala, on his part, wants to keep his message and achievements to his chest until the party opens nomination, but his colleague at Oforikrom constituency, Dr Marfo, had opened a campaign office for his parliamentary ambition.

Many of the incumbent legislators had already declared commitment to defend their seats, citing their track records and placing emphasis on the provision of social amenities to their constituents.

But the chairmen say they are ready to give them a run for their money.

So far, the legislators whose seats will be scrambled for are Elizabeth Agyemang of Oforikrom; Yaw Frimpong Addo of Manso Adubia; Emmanuel Akwasi Gyamfi of Odotobiri; Abdullai Banda of Offinso South; Kingsly Atta Boafo of Fomena and Appiah Pinkra of Adansi Akrofuom.

Source: Daily Guide

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video